Notes for Inspiration: K and T’s wedding

(You’ll have to excuse the lateness of this post. The wedding in question was about ten days ago, but since then I’ve been in Suffolk, in the glorious land of the internet-free.)

It was wonderful, and lovely, and despite my trepidation, had an amazing feel to it of being traditional and formal from some respects, but just so friendly and very them from others. I’m not going to give a blow-by-blow account because I don’t feel that would really be appropriate. But some observations:

  • The Dress was stunning. As was the beautiful K inside it, of course, but the point is to make notes for our wedding, and I am not her! Anyhow, here is the back in its full glory (in the unlikely event that you’re reading this, K, I hope you don’t mind. I have tried to chop your head off for privacy purposes.):

The train very cleverly attached to the skirt by means of hooking that loop onto one of the back buttons, and the front bodice was a corset style top, the lace sloping down from her neck in a raglan bolero type shape. I’m not going to lie, I love it! Traditional but not excessive, and I do love the classic look that the lace lends to it.

The one thing is that it was a hot day, and despite the white parasol that she had (!!!), K was slightly gasping for cool air as the afternoon went on.

  • The Groom, his best man, and another assorted important males were all in morning suits (I think!) with cream waistcoats and pale blue cravats. Something tells me that J will not be following suit…

  • The Dress Code for guests was ‘as smart as you feel comfortable’. Which was actually a really nice way of putting it. There were hats and fascinators, inevitably, but those of us not wearing them didn’t feel out of place either. Most of the women wore dresses; most of the men wore suits, but it wasn’t intimidatingly posh, as I feared it might be. I’d been desperately sewing a top to go with the pink skirt that I made for J’s graduation, but the combination of my abysmal concentration span and abysmal time management meant that I had to give up at the eleventh hour, instead borrowing a cream shirt of my mum’s and tucking it in, the matching pink item being still up in Durham. Sigh.

  • The Church Service was held in the Lady Chapel of St Alban’s cathedral – clearly his family place of worship, which makes sense because I’d never got the feeling that she was overtly religious herself. It was fine on the whole. I only knew one out of three hymns, and inevitably found some of the religious language not quite to my personal taste, but it wasn’t too over the top. The service booklet was bilingual, K being half-Finnish, and the reading from ‘The Velveteen Rabbit’ about ‘What is love?’ was just lovely! They didn’t do the whole his side, her side of the church thing, which gets green ticks in my mark book, but those of us at the back did have our view quite obstructed by all those bloody headpieces.

  • The Reception was held at a country manor house near Harpenden. Beautiful gardens – I presume they had booked a couple of indoor rooms in case the weather was unkind, but as it was we were very happy to stay outside, a couple of tables with chairs around for those who preferred to sit. The stroke of genius was that they were several outdoor games so that people (who didn’t necessarily know each other) had something to do other than just stand around and eat canapés. There was giant Jenga and dominoes, a croquet set, and a games room on the corner of the house with table tennis and darts. Definitely something to think about there.

  • The cake was a three tiered white icing affair, with one tier each of fruit cake, chocolate cake, and lemon cake. I didn’t have any of the first on account of not liking fruit cake, but I can reliably confirm that both of the other two were sumptuous! Even better without the icing.

  • The speeches were made the traditional three speakers – the father of the bride, the groom, and the best man. While all three spoke very well, I thought, I think that is not a tradition that we intend to follow. For one, I intend to get my own word in, thank you very much. For two, the responsibility of father of the bride-to-be falls upon my Dad; and while I love him dearly, J’s descriptions of him as ‘a riot’ and ‘bit of a liability’ are absolutely fair. You think you’ve got embarrassing parents?

  • The meal was yummy, served in a white marquee. Tables of ten, all of which, inexplicably, had an occupied goldfish bowl in the middle and carefully arranged decor. They’d managed to mix people up quite well on the seating plan, so that everybody knew a couple of people who they were sitting next to, but again it wasn’t a his/hers split.

  • The principal problem of the evening was taxis which didn’t turn up, and were then criminally expensive when they did. Three of us shared a taxi on clear roads, driving about 5 miles to a Holiday Inn and then a further 5 miles back to the centre of St Albans. It cost £50. We will hopefully be negating at least some of these problems by being in a city, not being in the south, and by having the wedding and reception within walking distance of each other.

  • Miscellanea. Old fashioned white car with ribbons. Chauffeur. Photographer. Plastic-looking bridesmaids. Cute little girls in matching gold dresses. Swing band, dancing, first dance. Good friends, good drinks. Blue balloons with lights inside them released into the sky just before midnight – oh, they were beautiful!

All said and done, a wonderful, wonderful day.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 15:41:09

    Don’t go down the goldfish route. Small children/tipsy younger relations/calamitous but unpreventable mishaps by perhaps more or less any guest = dead/dying/distressed goldfish, I remember from one of my cousin’s weddings.

    Otherwise it sounds lovely apart from the taxi bit. The games thing is a really good idea as well and also not necessarily expensive as after all plenty of people will have a good wooden croquet set/boules/etc in their garages.

    And her dress was beautiful though, as you say, perhaps more suitable for a slightly less summer-time wedding? Parasol sounds darling, though :).

    xxx

    Reply

  2. teacherface
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 19:26:20

    I do like the idea of getting my own word in too, I almost think it’s only right! Also, the garden games do sound fantastic! I have taken note for my own [very very distant] wedding :-p

    Reply

  3. yourmouthisadisaster
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 00:48:50

    Oh, yes, and I want to do a speech too, for parity, except that it’ll either be very neat and short and basically ‘blah i love my husband thank you all for coming blah’ or I won’t prepare a speech and will just ad lib at random and it’ll be potentially very funny or just downright awful but either way will go on for hours and I’ll either giggle or cry or both.

    I think your dad should definitely be allowed to make a speech even if he is ‘a riot’. If he’s prepared in the normal course of events to be outre and embarassing, I’m guessing he’d love the opportunity to stand in the limelight, and anyway, every father wants to be asked and knows you well enough not to entirely show you up :). Perhaps get your mother to keep him reasonably within the straight and narrow on the speech front?

    Reply

  4. Trackback: UFO « Patchwork Dreams
  5. Jenny
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 11:51:46

    Thought you might find this article quite interesting! xx

    Reply

  6. FiddlerJo
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 23:46:06

    Don’t know what your thaughts are on cars but my sister booked a local taxi firm whom she knew personally and insisted on the black London cab rather than their other cars. It was given a spruce up and some ribbon, but was much cheaper than the normal wedding car thing!

    Reply

  7. Imogen
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 21:54:55

    Lovely dress. Don’t you worry that the bride (or worse, one of her bridesmaids!) might read this though? I’d be pretty upset myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

