Groom’s wear

L and I were in Edinburgh a couple of weeks ago and found ourselves in Hilary’s Bazaar – a really swanky shop with lots of Indian crafts (including for all your bellydancing  needs!). I found a wonderful waistcoat that I really wanted to get, but alas it was too big.

It was exactly what I was looking for for the wedding (I didn’t know this is what I was looking for btw, just that I was looking for something!): a traditional cut (sans buttons), black, with delicate and tasteful silver embroidery on the front. It was very ‘me’ in that it was quirky and individual but because it was a traditional shaped cut, it didn’t look pretentious. It also gets me out of wearing a tie (HUGE bonus – I hate those hangman’s nooses!), can be worn with or without a jacket to suit the weather and is practical enough for ceilidh-ing. And it is in the spirit of the Quaker testimony to simplicity – if not compliant to the letter!

So, am on the lookout for a fitting version somewhere. Looks like I’ll have to trawl through the Indian clothes stores in Birmingham. Or learn how to embroider!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teacherface
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 19:39:26

    It’s a blog entry such as this that makes me excited to see the wedding photos. Couldn’t post up a sneaky picture, could you? 😛

    Reply

  2. Jenny
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 12:30:24

    CEILIDH.

    I’m so glad you’re having a wedding ceilidh. I want one too. So, Lucy, how are you going to manage the ceilidhing-in-wedding-dress thing?

    I’ve been thinking about this, because I kind of want a ceilidh when I get married, and this is complicated, because I want to go down the aisle in something long and white and simple and elegant, but ceilidhing in something with a floor-length skirt just isn’t happening – someone’s bound to rip it – so I’m seriously considering stripper-style poppers on the skirt bit of my dress so I can whip off the skirt and reveal a knee length underskirt which I *can* dance in. Partly for the comedy value of the skirt-whipping-off moment.

    Does the waistcoat in question have quite a high Indian-style collar then (thinking about your not-needing-a-tie comment)?

    xx

    Reply

  3. Imogen
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 18:31:40

    I hate to tell you this, but last time I looked, India and the Middle East were two different places.

    Reply

  4. maninahutch
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 19:23:19

    [Does the waistcoat in question have quite a high Indian-style collar then (thinking about your not-needing-a-tie comment)?]
    – No, just a normal waistcoat, but a high Nehru collar would be fantastic! Thanks for the idea!

    [I hate to tell you this, but last time I looked, India and the Middle East were two different places.]
    – Sorry, slightly confused…not sure where I made this mistake you’re refering too…

    Reply

  5. Lucy
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 18:18:05

    The belly-dancing, I would imagine?

    Reply

  6. Lucy
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 18:19:46

    Also, you do realise that the more you mention this, the more tempted I am to make one?!

    Reply

  7. Lucy
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 18:20:48

    Ah, Jenny, dress questions, dress questions. That, my dear, is for another post (or posts, as the case will almost certainly be)

    Reply

  8. Flix
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 16:07:49

    So… it’s Quaker week, right? A chance to inform the clueless (i.e. me) about what a Quaker wedding is likely to involve? I would like to learn more.

    Reply

  9. Lucy
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 17:18:03

    It was indeed Quaker week! I was a bad Quaker, and did nothing for it.

    Blogging inspiration to occur… sometime…?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

