The Ceilidh Dress – First Thoughts

I’ve been thinking a bit about what I want to sew for my ceilidh dress, and this afternoon, having finally scanned in my collection of Burda pattern magazines, I decided that it was time to bite the bullet and get some ideas down on paper.

Now I am not short on patterns by any means. If I decide that I want something which I don’t have an exact design for, I can always combine a bodice with another skirt or failing that, try and draft something myself.

But the one thing that I have decided is that I want this dress to be special! Basically, it’s pretty much the one day of my life when I can wear something really ostentatious, outlandish, showy… it’s the one day of my life where I am going to be the centre of attention (along with J, of course :-P) and I want to take advantage of that by looking amazing!

In particular, the wedding dress is relatively simple and classic. Hence I also want something which is a bit of a contrast.

So (mostly) from patterns that I already own, these are dresses that have struck me thus far. Bear in mind that I’d almost certainly be using different fabric to the patterns’ stylists, so from that point of view, the technical line drawings are more representative than the photos.

Aaah, so much choice!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 12:38:58

    I like the two in the bottom right hand corner of the picture – especially the leftmost of those two. Or possibly the bodice in the bottom left with a similar sort of a neckline and the capped sleeves (shown in brown)? I can imagine that that kind of neckline would also suit you really well :). Also for ceilidh dancing you want a full skirt for sure so that it spins out in a really nice dancey way :). xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

