Why, If I Had Any Sense, I Would Not Be Using IE

, “IE” standing for “Internet Explorer”, for those of you unfamiliar with the abbreviation.

Progress is being made on the website, and I am learning bucketloads as I go along.

I got @font-face to work, meaning that even if the viewing computer does not have the fonts in question installed (Gill Sans (MT), Abadi Condensed Extra Bold (MT), and Bickley Script, if you were interested), the browser will still display them. Nifty indeed. I used font-squirrel for the generation of the relevant files, although for some reason my computer would not support their website, and after a long series of emails with its developer, I ended up using J’s – a certain irony, there?!

What has followed next has been the quest to pull up my big girl panties, so to speak, and make the site cross-browser friendly. I put pretty much everything into containers after discovering that it makes positioning a lot easier in percentages, and have been getting my head round the tricks needed to get things to behave as they ought – for instance, persuading a PNG image that just because it is semi-transparent for aesthetic purposes, that doesn’t mean that I want it to overlap other elements.

Where I really hit a block however, was in the different behaviour of apparently identical browsers – namely J’s version of IE8 and my own. Eventually, I realised that what my browser considered to be 0% was completely different from his, and having identified this problem, promptly got so fed up of the whole thing that I ignored the website and its creation for about a month. Luckily it was Quakers To The Rescue again – I mentioned it in conversation at one of the Birmingham Young Friends meetings that has started up on Wednesday evenings, and found rather to my delight that I was talking to a hobbyist web designer. S knew exactly what I was talking about, and suggested that I Google “Eric Meyer reset css”, a wonderful piece of code which resets the default style settings on your browser. So simple, yet so effective!

What I’ve discovered, though, is that Eric Meyer’s code takes you rather too far back to basics. “I know!” I thought. “I’ll just find the default stylesheet settings for my brower, link them into the top of my stylesheet, and then everyone will see what I see. None of the endless experimentation to get everything back to how it was before. Genius!”

Unfortunately, Microsoft seem to have hidden the said default stylesheet somewhere within the Operating System. It’s one of those things that just has to be true to be believed. I know, let’s write a browser which is really difficult to web develop in so nobody in their right mind will use it…

Pray tell, WTF???

x

In other news, it’s six months exactly ’til the big day. Aaaargh?!! 😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dickie
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 22:48:17

    Yeah, IE can be a bit of a nightmare to get things working in sometimes. Sounds like you’re cracking it though, so well done 🙂

    Why do you need to set something to 0%? Can’t you just specify 0px, wouldn’t that achieve the same goal?

    Reply

  2. Lucy
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 09:24:57

    It would, but the problem would still be there with 0px – it was only on converting things to percentages that I really appreciated the magnitude of the cross-browser issue.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

