Progress Report

Wedding rings: designed and ordered.

The guy who is making them has kept my engagement ring in order to make sure that the wedding band co-ordinates exactly as I plan to wear the two rings together. J and I have both gone for rings which are a combination of white and yellow gold. Mine is about 3mm thick to match my engagement ring; J’s will be 6mm thick and have a Celtic knot design inlaid in the central (yellow gold) band.

Crazy!

We went to the Jewellery Quarter, an area of central Birmingham which is absolutely crammed full of jewellery shops and workshops. As well as being convenient, it felt appropriate personally as well. I will have one ring from Durham, where we met and had two happy years of being together – and one ring from Birmingham, where we are starting up a new life together, and is of course also where I come from.

For the 3-4 weeks it will take for the rings to be made, I have dug out a rather delicate and rather lovely ring that used to belong to my grandmother to wear on my fourth finger instead. It’s partly that I like having a ring on that finger for other people to see, but it’s mainly because I’ve got so used to wearing one now that my hand felt naked without it!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kat
    May 10, 2011 @ 20:19:51

    Pictures please! of the grandmothers ring not the wedding as they not made obviously. Which place did you go in end? (I have been to hundreds of shops with my mom looking for pieces for various people and my parents got there rings from jewellery quarter too :))

    Reply

  2. Flix
    May 11, 2011 @ 08:54:35

    Biggrin 😀

    Reply

  3. Lucy
    May 11, 2011 @ 19:18:57

    Reply

  4. teacherface
    May 12, 2011 @ 18:39:02

    Here’s a question that you may have already answer, how long have you known J?

    Reply

  5. kat
    May 12, 2011 @ 19:01:40

    ooo so pretty, any one asked you about your unusual engagement ring yet? (those that do not know you well obviously) xx

    Reply

  6. Lucy
    May 12, 2011 @ 21:00:27

    @Kat: no! To be quite honest, I don’t think that most people notice you’re wearing a ring at all unless you wave it in their face going “Look! I’m engaged!”. Which I tend not to do!

    @teacherface: four and a half years -since the first Sunday in Freshers’ Week. But we’ve only been going out for two and a half.

    Reply

  7. teacherface
    May 13, 2011 @ 15:47:24

    Duke of Cambridge doesn’t have a ring, not that I know why this is.

    Reply

  8. Lucy
    May 13, 2011 @ 15:50:37

    My Dad doesn’t wear a ring. Not everybody does.

    Reply

  9. Jenny
    May 14, 2011 @ 08:41:23

    I don’t understand why you wouldn’t. My dad is the least likely person to wear any kind of adornment or jewellery ever ever, and yet he does (and wouldn’t consider not doing so) wear a wedding ring. Any ideas why you wouldn’t?

    Also your grandmother’s ring is lovely :).

    Reply

  10. Lucy
    May 14, 2011 @ 10:26:52

    I think in my Dad’s case it might have something to do with the fact that he spends so much time in labs, he wouldn’t want to risk an accident which could a) damage the ring or b) damage his finger as a result of wearing a ring. I would imagine that as a helicopter rescue person, William isn’t wearing one for a similar reason.

    Also my Dad’s not exactly a die-hard romantic – I believe my mother bought her own engagement ring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

