Something Old, Something New…

…Something Borrowed, Something Blue.

So I can tick off the Something New straight away – that’d be my dress! And shoes, which I now also have, rather excitingly, thanks to a wonderful discussion thread on The Sewing Forum.

Something Blue has been accounted for, although I wonder whether it counts if it’s not visible to the guests…?!

How old does the Something Old have to be? I’m planning on wearing a necklace which I’ve had since about half-way through university and has hence been worn on other occasions, but it’s not exactly heirloom.

And what about the Something Borrowed?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teacherface
    May 16, 2011 @ 19:20:21

    Could you borrow a friend’s bracelet or something? I would suggest earrings but that’s a little unhygienic!

    Reply

  2. killermia
    May 16, 2011 @ 19:29:02

    Hmmm. I know my mom wore a borrowed hairpin (miniscule, but still counted) at her wedding. Don’t think it matters if the guests can’t see it 😉 and as for how old the “something old” has to be, I think anything you haven’t bought in the last year counts, but that could just be me…

    Reply

  3. Lucy
    May 16, 2011 @ 20:06:22

    Do they all have to be things that I’m wearing? Hairpin, that’s genius!

    Reply

  4. kat
    May 16, 2011 @ 23:38:40

    I think your something old is being worn pre wedding that should count as extended luck or whatever it is this odd habit is for.

    I don’t think you need to necessarily wear the stuff just have it with you I suppose.

    Reply

  5. killermia
    May 17, 2011 @ 12:27:55

    I think it would be easier to wear it – that way, you don’t just leave it around while dancing etc, so it’s always with you, so it brings more luck. Plus, if you have it with you rather than wearing it, you might forget it somewhere..

    I don’t think they have to necessarily be massive, obvious things – I think it’s enough that the bride knows they’re there – the tradition is upheld, and that’s all that matters in this case, I reckon.

    Reply

  6. Lucy
    May 17, 2011 @ 12:32:56

    I’m upholding the tradition more as a bit of fun than for whatever its original reasons were. So yes, if they count to me then I guess that’s enough!

    Reply

  7. Jenny
    May 17, 2011 @ 23:02:12

    Yes, borrow some jewellery or a hairpin or a watch or something :). Something old, as mentioned, should be something you’ve worn before for a while, so your necklace will be perfect. Or you could wear your grandmother’s ring (on the other hand, of course)? I will probably uphold this tradition because I’m massively superstitious. I don’t know what might go wrong but I know that Bad Things Might Happen, so I’ll do it…! Although I have ceased to count or greet magpies, more or less. Or perhaps I don’t see them around so often these days.

    Reply

  8. killermia
    May 19, 2011 @ 12:42:47

    I’m not an overly supersticious person myself – I’d probably not even be wearing white, if I ever decide to get married…But the one thing I do do (and I don’t know if it exists in the UK!) is never kiss in doorways.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

