The Ceilidh Dress – Tracing

This is what I spent an hour or two doing this afternoon/ evening in Inkscape: tracing monarch butterfly patterns from Googled images onto measured out petal shapes.

Once I have added seam allowances, I will print this out with the aid of this tiling tool and use it as a pattern for cutting my silk habutai (and the cotton batiste backing). I will be able to trace the shapes through onto the habutai (using a 6B pencil, probably) and then go over the lines in gutta resist. Drawing by hand has never been my strong point, and I decided that this was the easiest way to get a result that I was happy with!

Please work, please work, please work…

Leave a Reply

