Emotional Overload

Getting married’s a big thing, right? To have found the person that you want to spend the rest of your life with, and to be planning a big, happy party that focuses on the two of you being in love… it’s pretty special.

I love weddings. I’ve hardly been to any, and less still within recent memory* – so maybe it’s as a result of this that I’m getting incredibly teary and emotional whenever the subject comes up of two people affirming their love for each other. I got teary in Debenhams when buying the matching knickers to go with my bra. I was trying not to cry all the way through the royal wedding. And now, to cap it all off, I have just link-hopped to a beautiful blog containing some of the most beautiful wedding paraphenalia I have ever seen.

It makes me want all the more to document our wedding properly, actually. I’d like lots of photos to be taken on the day – but also of things like my hen party and the little bits leading up to it. I’d like some soppy photos of me and J, but this might take a bit of doing because we’d have to find somebody to take them and I’d have to persuade J that he actually wanted to be in front of the camera rather than behind it for once. I’d like to do the little emotional things like leaving notes for each other, and flowers, and the First Kiss.

My pragmatic self is laughing right now – laughing and scoffing. But the emotions are still squeezing out of all the little cracks and corners, and they’re pleading with me that we will only do this once.

x

*J has been to none. If you don’t count the celebration and re-affirmal of vows of a couple of our Quaker friends that we’re going to in late June, J’s first wedding will be his own!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    May 31, 2011 @ 22:37:44

    In many ways I think one of the best ways of doing wedding photography is to persuade a talented friend with a good camera that what they really want to be doing when they come to your wedding is taking lots of lovely photographs. Ditto your hen night etc. And yes. You only do this once. There is *nothing* wrong in doing it absolutely wholeheartedly, unashamedly and, if needs be, weepily. Embrace it.

    Reply

  2. kat
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 07:12:00

    Ok rule for your hen do then everyone who owns a camera brings it and uses it 😛

    Reply

  3. teacherface
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 13:13:59

    I’m with Jenny. My sister had her best friend do the wedding photos with several different cameras and the results were beautiful and incredibly personal.

    Also, I love websites like that. That make me so happy.

    Reply

  4. Fiddler J
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 18:57:46

    I went to a wedding several years ago where there was a disposable camera on every table at the reception and we were asked to use them then leave them! It was just pre digital camera/phone days, so I guess asking people to send you their pics would work as well & be greener!

    Reply

  5. Jenny
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 17:24:17

    I think you have to make it clear that you’re going to be asking for pics back from people before the big day though, just so they don’t feel like your cheating a bit :). But I think it’s a good idea because then you get all sorts of different personal perspectives on the day. Especially if some of your guests are actually good with a camera, and even more especially if they’re using a good camera, too :).

    Reply

  6. Lucy
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 10:48:49

    Well, we’ve already sort of done that! We’ve got a ‘Photos’ page on the website where we tell people about the photo arrangements – that we’re having a professional photographer for the formal shots but that they are more than welcome to bring cameras to the reception and that we might be asking for copies of some of the photos afterwards.

    J’s dad is pretty nifty with a lens, so hopefully he’ll be able to get some nice ones as well (when he’s not in his official role as father-of-the-groom).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

