What’s In A Name Change?

See ‘What’s In A Name?’ for the background to this.

I do like websites which tell you information clearly and concisely (even if I suspect that the particular website in question is that of a private company aiming to make a pretty penny out of people’s ignorance; this, I believe, is the official government guidance. Nice and transparent like most government documents…)

However it turns out that if I want to make the previously discussed change to my name upon marriage, I have to do it by deed poll. Even taking J’s surname and abandoning my own would involve on average 30-40 notifications of the change of name; doing so by deed poll would apparently make the notification process more complicated and cost me £64.43 for the privilege.

Do I care that much? Do I care £64.43 much? I mean, sure, what’s £64.43 compared to the personal significance of being able to have the name that I want, but… I dunno.

What would you do, or what did you do in this situation?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Flix
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 20:52:27

    My opinion depends almost entirely on what your future husband’s surname is 😛 I have literally no idea what I’ll do with my name if I get married.

    I would have thought, with all the expense incurred of a wedding, £64 is a marginal amount to spend on the opportunity to have the name you want for the rest of your life. How important is it to you?

    Reply

  2. kat
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 21:12:41

    Well that is such a complex method of changing a name at marriage! If it was me I would be taking the easiest option and just changing my surname but this is more to do with the fact my name is Young and that just doesn’t go well doubled with anything particularly as a middle name before his!

    I agree with Flix though £64.43 is not the most expensive cost of a wedding and if you break it down thats £64.43 for the rest of your life which if you live to 90 is 96p a year or there abouts. (not that I am wishing your life to end suddenly at 90 it just seemed like a good age to get to feesibly too) You must have spent a reasonable amount of time considering the name change to back out of it now that there is a slight cost involved seems wrong.

    Let us know what you two decide! xx

    Reply

  3. John
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 22:46:53

    Not sure where you get £64.43 from as the company you mention only charge £29.

    Reply

  4. Lucy
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 09:34:27

    Are you from the company, John? I couldn’t find a fee on the website, although I didn’t fine-tooth comb it.

    £64.43 is the cost of a deed poll according to the government website. A £29 ‘helping fee’ would be on top of that, I’d imagine.

    Reply

  5. Lucy
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 09:55:09

    Right, a call to HM Deed Poll enquiries has informed me that I would not need a deed poll to make the aforementioned name change.

    On further inspection, the company above has a lovely little disclaimer here covering the fact that they are touting incorrect information: “we expressly exclude liability for any such inaccuracies or errors to the fullest extent permitted by law”.

    Not amused.

    Reply

  6. Lucy
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 10:02:28

    …and it would appear I’ve missed the deadline for pre-emptively changing my passport by about ten days. Bugger.

    Reply

    • Lucy
      Jun 09, 2011 @ 10:03:31

      Oh, no, wait. “Up to three months before the ceremony.”

      I think I’m all right. Man, this is stressful!

      Reply

  7. Fiddler J
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 13:23:58

    If there is a charge, and you really want to do it, why not add it to the wedding present list?

    Reply

  8. Lucy
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 13:53:55

    Good point, Fiddler J! It would come out of the wedding budget anyway, but yes, maybe that’s an option.

    If there is a charge it’ll be to do with the passport, not the official name change, and I’m hoping that the passport can get done for free anyway.

    Reply

  9. Flix
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 16:26:35

    OMG the welcome guy on the HM Deed Poll is amazing. Why don’t you need a deed poll? When would you? I don’t really get deed polls.

    Who is the official deed poll service in the UK?

    “The simple answer there isnt one, Its our legal right to change our name or title as often as we want, most Government departments i.e DVLA, Passport Office need to see a signed deed poll to update there records. It is up to you how much you would like to pay for someone to prepare you a deed poll, costs vary from Free to over £100, Challenge us to find the official UK deed poll service, and if you find the one we will give you £1000.00 Straight into your bank account guaranteed same day.”

    Reply

  10. Lucy
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 20:05:51

    I do not know. I sort of assumed it was part of the civil service in some guise or another. Who knows.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

