RSVP (no really)

When we set an RSVP deadline (trying ever so hard not to actually call it a deadline), we allowed leeway for the inevitable fact that there would be some people who didn’t reply on time, or would forget to give us food choices or what have you.

That deadline was nearly two weeks ago. We started chasing people up in spare moments at work (having not got the internet here yet at that point). A few more have replied, including the best man and his girlfriend. A few still have not. Not huge numbers, but probably more than can be counted on the fingers of one hand.

You have to allow for the fact that I am tired and stroppy while writing this post due to a combination of exhaustion and depression and stress. But still – is it me, or is it just really rude? We’ve put a lot of effort into making this wedding as ‘user-friendly’ as possible, and at the end of the day we’re inviting people not because we have to but because we want them to be there. I can understand uncertainties over clashing commitments or travel plans or whatever and that’s fine – but they could at least have the courtesy to tell us! If they can’t be bothered to reply (even after a reminder) then I can’t be bothered to have them there. Sounds harsh? Do I care?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 11:41:40

    That is rude. I know I’m terrible at RSVPing, in that I usually reply early but frequently my reply will be of the ‘not sure, think I’m busy that day, will have to check diary/don’t know if/how I can afford it/other confusion’ variety, but I’m always honest, I don’t make excuses, and that way everyone knows where they stand. For a wedding especially I’d make the effort to reply definitely as well as promptly if at all possible. I mught then have more trouble not being late, but that’s another story…! Communication is key and not communicating is very simply rude. I hope this all gets ironed out soon :). Xxx

    Reply

  2. killermia
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 15:16:32

    I hope it gets sorted out soon. I know that I personally wouldn’t tolerate that kind of conduct, though – if I can be bothered to reply to your messages/invites etc within a 24-hour deadline, then so can you. Especially if it’s for a wedding.

    Reply

  3. Lucy
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 16:11:37

    What really makes me frustrated is that we weren’t able to invite everyone we’d’ve liked for capacity reasons. J was adamant that he didn’t want to have a ‘reserve’ list, but had we done so there are other people whom it would now have been too late to have asked instead.

    Reply

  4. killermia
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 19:22:11

    Yeah I see what you mean. To be honest, you’ve done all you could, so I’d jut cut the ones that haven’t bothered to reply and get on with my life. It’s their loss, not yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

